Town of DeRuyter, New York


Admiral de Ruyter

Previous to 1795, DeRuyter was included in the town of Whitestown and was part of the "Lincklaen Purchase".  "Tromp Township" was the original name given by Jan Lincklaen, a Holland Land Agent in honor of a fellow countryman, Admiral Marten von Tromp.  The new town of DeRuyter was formed on March 15th, 1798.  Jan Lincklaen once again named it in honor of a fellow countryman, Admiral Michiel DeRuyter.
The Village of DeRuyter was incorporated in 1833.
Ezra Cornell, founder of Cornell University re-located from Westchester, New York to DeRuyter in 1819.
Sig Sautelle's Circus wintered and trained in DeRuyter from 1896 to the early 1900s.
The first Four-County Fair (Cortland County, Madison County, Chenango County and Onondaga County) was held in DeRuyter in 1908.  The first DeRuyter Fireman's Fair was held in 1927.

Horizontal Divider 7


For more history of DeRuyter, click here.

Horizontal Divider 7

This site  The Web